Enterprise 2.0: mature business communities can control itself #2

April 21, 2008 — 3 Comments

As I’ve written before about a case where I was unpleasantly surprised by a question on our internal wiki, so today I encountered another blog that again confronted me with the challenges for a manager with Web 2.0 technologies.

To develop or not to develop
Today it again was one of my new colleagues from our new office in Lviv challenging a decision of mine. He questioned my choice to choose certain existing web development frameworks, in this case Wicket, and questioned whether it would not have been better to develop a new web development framework as all existing frameworks in his opinion are old. As I was really proud of my research work as I was able to get in contact with core-players of Wicket, even Jonathan Lockethe founder of Wicket, you can understand that I felt attacked when I read his blog. But as I have had a lot of practice, I was able to count to 30 easily and posted a reply to his blog where I showed some management perspectives. And even later on the day I tipped him to use LinkedIn to see what other professionals think about it, what I sometimes do when I have some questions. Just another way of doing Web 2.0 …

It’s hard to get a framework launched
Of course as a passionate developer Andryi thinks he can make a better framework using the latest technologies. But as he still thinks that he can conquer the world, his lack of management experience prevented him to see things from a higher point of view:

  • Any own, new framework will become proprietary if it’s not supported by Open Source;
  • There are so many web development frameworks out there already, it’s not easy to get support for a new one;
  • Developing a new framework takes a lot of time, who’s gonna pay the bill?;
  • Lack of time can eventually kill the ‘newness’ of the framework as by the time it’s launched new technologies have arisen that were not taken in account;

Looking from another perspective
When we recruited Andryi we recruited him for his technical enthusiasm and pro-activeness and see this is a result. He combined his strengths and listened to me when I called upon all my co-workers to start blogging. So from this perspective he’s the typical guy I need to have my organization work towards the Enterprise 2.0. And that is something I believe will be the success of Componence. So to Andryi:

“Thnx for listening to me and showing me what I and your manager needed to see. I see now that you and Serhyi need to spend more time with us in the Netherlands to get in sync again. We’ll take care of that!”

So this means that either I’ll fly to Ukraine in a few weeks from now, or Andryi will come to the Netherlands in a few weeks. Whatever the direction, I’m quite sure we’ll have some laughs 😉

Today there was also another blog
While I was recovering from Andryi’s blog, one of my colleagues put the blog of Abhay to my attention. Abhay is the energetic and enthusiastic Indian colleague who is visiting our office in Nieuwegein, the Netherlands for the first time. He wrote the following message on our internal wiki about “Componence India visit to Componence NL“:

“Great Country , Great people ! “.

Today , we completed first week of our visit. It was a good balance of fun , work and planning. We Indians are of the view that we are the best host in the world, but Componence NL has proved it wrong . First , it was a warm welcome by HA and BT then followed by his team specially Coen and Yonathan.

I am very thankful to all our Dutch counterparts that they are always try to make us feel like their close friends. From the very first day I didn’t feel that i am in a strange environment or with strange people. Despite our shyness(Due to our culture) , they come forword again and again to bring us with them.

We need to learn lot of thing from Componence NL culture. Here I feel , despite lot of fun and freedom everyone is focused on his/her responsibility very well and working like group of honey bee. I don’t say that we don’t have freedom and fun in componence India , but we need to feel it and explore it . Then I think we can focus on our work more.

Second thing that I noticed and liked is that sticking to rules and duties are in blood of Dutch people. Wherever I went , I didn’t see any traffic policeman to control traffic , every persons was following the traffic signals despite that he has the chance to overlook them , same was in train and tram system , there were no ticket checker , still people were taking ticket for there jorney , What conclusion I draw is that when responsibility of maintaining any law is given to a person , instead of voilating that law he/she becomes the saver of it. Here I see everyone think that it is his/her responsibility to follow rules and he/she is the only police to keep vigil on himself.

We Indian should also adopt this culture in our routine life , As we know that until we are instructed for some thing we don’t do despite having the knowledge that we should do this. This is the same case in our office also , i know , it takes time to bring the system on line and to be in the system , But we don’t have much time , we will have to do some extra efforts and we can do it and will do it.

I will update this column , it is not complte…

Abhay

Conlusion
There’s always a good and bad side about everything. As a manager you should always learn from the bad and be strong enough to see the constructive message of it and to turn it into a good. So I’m quite sure that I will get more cases of ‘sensitve blogs’, but I know that I must be strong to have the patience to guide the young, enthusiastic and somewhat unstructured to become the future of Componence 2.0.

3 responses to Enterprise 2.0: mature business communities can control itself #2

  1. 
    Andriy Mykhaylyuk April 21, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Hi Ha
    Nice to see you reacted on my post . But you didn’t understand me correctly.
    It will be nice to have a talk with you via Skype.
    BTW: check it out : http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/enterprise_20_to_become_a_46_billion_industry.php

    P.S. you have already started a framework. PS really looks like a development framework. And you a going ahead to build a new version of it. And sales of a framework are really good.

  2. 

    Interesting read again Ha. Must say I find it interesting to read about Abhay seeing that Dutch people stick to rules; we are actually quite well known for our stubbornness and using our own minds ; rules or no rules. Maybe our wealth and bad government changed that a bit though over the years.

    Great read though 🙂

  3. 

    TS7yuV gkosir7v2bcakf8Gsbv420Vs

Leave a Reply

